don't click here

so...WHAT was the best fangame ever?

Print

Author Topic: so...WHAT was the best fangame ever?  (Read 11161 times)

Offline SadisticMystic

« on: March 22, 2004, 01:52:46 pm »
http://www.srb2.org

I stumbled into this game a couple days ago, and as soon as I started playing, I thought three things:

1) "How did I get such a good game for free?"
2) "I wonder if I can get 19 seconds on the first level..."
3) "How did I get such a good game for free WITHOUT BREAKING THE LAW?"

It's a fully functioning 3D game, with a game engine that you might recognize from Doom.  Some of the more useful features:
-A package including 25 levels (only 9 actually come as installed; you need one of the Addons to get the rest). Each of the act 3s is a boss fight like from Sonic 3D Blast (i.e. the boss is the entire level; you don't have to go through anything to get there), and most of those bosees are the same machine with the same attacks, but the different surroundings provide interesting twists on the battle each time. All in all, even those default levels are a great set to have.
-3 distinct characters.  Unlike in other games where there are multiple characters as nothing more than skins of each other, in this game Tails actually flies, Knuckles glides and climbs, and they function exactly like you'd expect them to.  Furthermore, each one has its own set of values for things like Speed, Acceleration, and Jump Height.
New Special Stages.  You're in a 3D all-range world of mountains, valleys, and ledges, and the object is to hunt down the specified number of rings in the given time (usually 100-200 seconds).  Resembles the Advance 2 specials more than anything, but much easier both to access and to beat.  For one, there's no crazy robot following you.