Question about rankings on Chaotix


    Print

Author Topic: Question about rankings on Chaotix  (Read 17851 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« on: November 30, 2005, 06:18:44 PM »
Are there any rules regarding the team I use or the time of day?  I know I can't use a team that can only be made via stage select, but I want to make sure that there's not some "understood" rule that's not posted.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline SadisticMystic

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2005, 07:39:14 PM »
Any team that consists of two different members from the set {Knuckles,Mighty,Espio,Charmy,Vector,Heavy,Bomb} is allowed for any level except Isolated Island (where Heavy and Bomb are disallowed) and Introduction (where only P1 Knuckles, P2 Espio may be used).  Use the team you think is best for each level.

I don't recall time of day having any effect on any level, and even if it does then you can choose the time that will lead to the most favorable layout.

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2005, 07:45:06 PM »
Thanks.

I asked about time becuase there's a door in Speed Slider 4 that is unlocked at sunset but not at night.  With it open, I used Mighty and Espio to clear the level in 15"05, which I'll post in the rankings soon.  If I wasn't so lazy, I'd get verified for uploading videos and submit a vid.  Some people are probably itching to see Chaotix.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2005, 06:46:17 PM »
Heh... I beat three records, and as a result, you're now the champ at Chaotix, SadisticMystic.  Feel free to enjoy that warm, fuzzy feeling.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline yse

  • Thrower of Gauntlets
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC: mike89
  • win7 chrome
  • Posts: 1723
  • Constitutions written: 1 and counting
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2005, 12:35:55 AM »
And now I am again. *slightly confused*

<3 Thorn.

Offline sonicam

  • TSC's Most Easily Irritated Member
  • If I had a (ban)hammer
  • TSC Profile
  • win7 firefox
  • Posts: 666
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2005, 07:25:42 AM »
No, you both are. I guess when I made submissions and gamersince93, it refreshed some percent values and decared you champion by a value less than .1%. That's just a guess.
Chaos Emeralds: Yellow, Red, Green, Blue and Purple.
Keys: Light Blue.


Click here to level up my card!

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2005, 03:57:32 PM »
Now the home page is saying that there's only one champ again.  This is going to happen whenever I submit a time, isn't it?  I'm scared to actually knock someone down to #2...

*notices mike89's sniper rifles on left*
*notices SadisticMystic's rifles on right*
*cowers in fear*
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Spinballwizard

  • TSC Purist
  • Broseidon
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1291
  • That's enough of that.
    • View Profile
    • WSBW GameCenter
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2005, 04:28:31 PM »
Well, whenever you get a time better than someone else, your point total drops and their point total rises. What's happening is that your times are either beating mike89's or SadisticMystic's, but almost never at the same time, which would explain why they keep interchanging the championship.

I doubt either will mind too much. Or if they do, they'll just go get better times. That doesn't seem too likely though, as KC isn't exactly the most TAed game, and mike's concentrating more on other games like SnK at the moment IIRC. (For he has a championship to regain there too. XD)
<Tails> also "GET BLUE SPHERES" on a black-and-white TV remains the best special stage of all time

<Achlys> wat ave you done!
<Spinballwizard> apparently killed your h key

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2005, 01:57:12 PM »
Yeah, I know nobody cares to TA Chaotix, but I've been kind of addicted to it lately.  I can't really explain why, but it's probably just because it's different.  That, and records are easy to come by with some luck.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Bilan

  • Broseidon
  • TSC: RPGnutter
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 3883
  • ZURA ZURA CHUUPA CHUUPA CHUU CHUU
    • View Profile
    • I'm suffering help me Garian
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2005, 04:29:57 PM »
Quote
Yeah, I know nobody cares to TA Chaotix, but I've been kind of addicted to it lately.  I can't really explain why, but it's probably just because it's different.  That, and records are easy to come by with some luck.
[snapback]7886[/snapback]

I intend to TA Chaotix sometime :o.

Then again, I intend to submit something for every Point-Worthy division on the site eventually X)
Did you not think I had a mind?

Offline qubit

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2005, 05:55:43 PM »
Quote
Thanks.

I asked about time becuase there's a door in Speed Slider 4 that is unlocked at sunset but not at night.  With it open, I used Mighty and Espio to clear the level in 15"05, which I'll post in the rankings soon.  If I wasn't so lazy, I'd get verified for uploading videos and submit a vid.  Some people are probably itching to see Chaotix.
[snapback]7842[/snapback]


I'd love to see some Chaotix TA vids.
Me: Do you find it odd that CF's top two loves rank last in his Bouncy rankings? x_x
mike89: yes. yes i do.
mike89: but then i find CF odd.
Me: so do I.

The odds of meeting a TSCer randomly on the street, at any given time anywhere in the world, is approximately 15,785,611 to 1 ... and growing.

Offline yse

  • Thrower of Gauntlets
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC: mike89
  • win7 chrome
  • Posts: 1723
  • Constitutions written: 1 and counting
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2005, 06:01:09 PM »
Well, it appears both SM and myself have been usurped to the KC throne!

...Meh.

Congrats, gamersince93!
« Last Edit: December 03, 2005, 06:01:36 PM by mike89 »

<3 Thorn.

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2005, 06:11:40 PM »
Yeah, but I won't feel satisfied with that title until I've got the best total time (why does total time count twice?).  I'm a minute or two behind.

Quote
I'd love to see some Chaotix TA vids.
[snapback]7894[/snapback]

I figured somebody would want to see.  I've got to see if my parents will let me use their camera.  Then I've got to make sure that everyone can view whatever format the camera records in.  If all of that goes alright, I'll try to get verified and post the vids.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Bilan

  • Broseidon
  • TSC: RPGnutter
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 3883
  • ZURA ZURA CHUUPA CHUUPA CHUU CHUU
    • View Profile
    • I'm suffering help me Garian
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2005, 09:40:25 AM »
Quote
I figured somebody would want to see.  I've got to see if my parents will let me use their camera.  Then I've got to make sure that everyone can view whatever format the camera records in.  If all of that goes alright, I'll try to get verified and post the vids.
[snapback]7896[/snapback]

Use an emulator+Camtasia Studio
Did you not think I had a mind?

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2005, 12:03:26 PM »
If I can avoid it, I'd rather not use a ROM.  That, and I don't have $300 to spend once the free trial on Camtasia Studio expires.  I've seen a few vids taken by cameras for Sonic Adventure 2, and they turned out okay.  It seems easier to record it, put the memory card in my PC, and upload it.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Rolken

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2005, 02:43:06 PM »
If you're planning on just taking a camcorder and pointing it at a TV, you might have problems - since both devices don't actually display/record images continuously, but rather as discrete frames too fast for people to see but that may desync and appear as odd dark bars on the recording. I know cables exist for synchronization, but have no idea where to get one or how much they cost. But maybe it'll work anyway and I'm just blustering.
StH JJ1 WkS+ Sal++^i Rbk++i Knu- McS+++ P++ D[af]opw $++++ E03 A24 GM CoUT
What fun is it being cool if you can't wear a sombrero?

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2005, 02:45:54 PM »
I won't know unless I try.  The worst case scenario isn't exactly bad:  I'll adjust to using a keyboard, play the ROM, and record it.  I don't think my times will be as good with a keyboard, but at least the poeple who have no clue what this game looks like can get a glimpse.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline SadisticMystic

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2005, 03:01:26 PM »
There's a crack available for Camtasia that gets rid of the trial requirement.  Obviously you won't be linked to it here, but someone will let you know eventually...

If nothing else, you could run a VCR between your game system and TV, and record your game from that.  Then if you have a TV tuner/capture card for your computer, you can record the input from your VCR.  If not, you can mail the tape to someone who does.  It'll still be a high-quality recording of just the screen that way, and not the crazy stuff that an external camcorder might do with the picture.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2005, 03:02:32 PM by SadisticMystic »

Offline Bilan

  • Broseidon
  • TSC: RPGnutter
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 3883
  • ZURA ZURA CHUUPA CHUUPA CHUU CHUU
    • View Profile
    • I'm suffering help me Garian
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2005, 04:18:27 PM »
Quote
If I can avoid it, I'd rather not use a ROM.  That, and I don't have $300 to spend once the free trial on Camtasia Studio expires.  I've seen a few vids taken by cameras for Sonic Adventure 2, and they turned out okay.  It seems easier to record it, put the memory card in my PC, and upload it.
[snapback]7916[/snapback]

Once it expires, you uninstall it completely. Then if you need it again, you redownload it and install it again :D

That works...uh...a friend of a friend tried it...um....yeah...

/me flee
Did you not think I had a mind?

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2005, 05:39:25 PM »
I've found a way to record without abusing the free trial on Camtasia.  I'm using HyperCam, but since it seems to record external sound only, I placed a microphone next to the computer.  It would have been a nice recording if my brother wasn't beating on his drums.

I still want to try using a camera, though.  With a keyboard it took me eleven seconds longer to beat Speed Slider 4 (25 seconds rather than 14 seconds).
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #20 on: December 04, 2005, 07:27:26 PM »
Alright, I have an okay vid now, only three seconds off of how I would do on the actual 32X version.  The submissions page says Rolken and SadisticMystic are the ones to talk to about getting validated for videos, and the FAQ says to ask in the forum.  Both Rolken and SM have posted here, so I guess I should just wait until one of then stops by.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2005, 01:42:46 PM »
I don't know if triple posts are frowned upon, but... here's a triple post.

I uploaded a video, but when I went to play it back, I received a 404 error.  That, and the vid showed up under Speed Slider 4 when it should have been under Speed Slider 1.  How can I have the mistake corrected, and does anyone else get a 404 error?
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline SadisticMystic

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2005, 02:17:05 PM »
The error was actually 403, not 404.  The file can be found, but the server doesn't think you have permission to watch it.

I deleted the incorrect level entry, and changed the permissions on the video file so now it can be watched.

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #23 on: December 05, 2005, 02:20:58 PM »
Thanks for that.  I'm still going to try using a camera; you can see where I slipped up in the vid since I can't use a keyboard well.  Better than nothing, though.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline CosmicFalcon

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #24 on: December 05, 2005, 05:24:59 PM »
Quote
I don't know if triple posts are frowned upon, but... here's a triple post.
[snapback]7950[/snapback]

"A graph of cf's coolness as age increases would be exponential." - Stefan [14:26, 2008/08/23]
"I now realise that CF is complete and utter win." - Cruizer [13:46, 2009/10/23]

Offline Taco

  • If I had a (ban)hammer
  • TSC: NintenDan
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
    • http://www.freewebs.com/nintendan
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #25 on: December 05, 2005, 06:26:55 PM »
There is an edit button, but unlike other communities, we really don't give a shit about bumping old topics, double and tripleposting, or anything else of that sort!

Just don't abuse the privelage

Offline Rolken

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #26 on: December 05, 2005, 09:24:12 PM »
I am actually pro double/triple/whatever posting, with the exception of "hey and also I just remembered" thoughts like five minutes later. Editing new comments into a post a day or two old doesn't tell anyone something new's been added to the topic, which is just silly.

Also I was wondering where the 403s in the server log were coming from. Nice to have that resolved.
StH JJ1 WkS+ Sal++^i Rbk++i Knu- McS+++ P++ D[af]opw $++++ E03 A24 GM CoUT
What fun is it being cool if you can't wear a sombrero?

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #27 on: December 06, 2005, 06:38:32 PM »
Alright, I've got seven vids online now.  I scaled the file sizes on most of them down fourteen-fold (28 MB to 2 MB was the largest), and they didn't become unwatchable, which is pretty good.  That odd "dark bar" effect Rolken mentioned happened once or twice, but it wasn't too bad.  I plan to do more vids this way in the future.

BTW, the Botanic Base 2 vid uses the low exit, not the high one.
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

Offline Rolken

Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #28 on: December 08, 2005, 02:24:06 PM »
If the larger vids are better quality, you can send them too. Might as well have all the options.
StH JJ1 WkS+ Sal++^i Rbk++i Knu- McS+++ P++ D[af]opw $++++ E03 A24 GM CoUT
What fun is it being cool if you can't wear a sombrero?

Offline Thorn

  • wroar
  • Architect emeritus
  • TSC Profile
  • win10 chrome
  • Posts: 1310
  • Former admin, lucid dreamer, lover of burgers
    • View Profile
Question about rankings on Chaotix
« Reply #29 on: December 08, 2005, 03:49:22 PM »
Quote
If the larger vids are better quality, you can send them too. Might as well have all the options.
[snapback]8005[/snapback]

I think the Techno Tower 5 vid was the only one that suffered serious quality loss, but the submissions page won't take vids over 2 MB, so I can't make them too much bigger.  That's why I only did short levels.  I've seen 14 MB vids on the site; how did they get submitted?  The FAQ said "upload directly", but didn't go into any detail.

Oh, and the link to the Amazing Arena 1 vid is dead.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2005, 04:55:01 PM by gamersince93 »
<RPGnutter> Well I think your reasoning was dumb, so you get sassed
<RPGnutter> Thats how it works

    Print
 

Hits: 313 | Hits This Month: 3 | DB Calls: 8 | Mem Usage: 6.83 MB | Time: 0.20s | Printable

The Sonic Center v3.9
Copyright 2003-2011 by The Sonic Center Team.